Rails to Trails
of Wayne County








motorized wheelchair

Rails to Trails of Wayne County, Ohio


What We Do

Rails-to-Trails of Wayne County is a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion, development, and conversion of unused railroad and greenway corridors into multi-purpose, non-motorized, public paths. We are comprised of local volunteers with the common interests for enjoying trails in many different forms including bicycling, walking, running, roller-blading, and horseback riding. We promote and inspire movement!


Sippo Valley Trail Rededication Day, June 18, 2022

Sippo Trail Rededication

The 20-year Sippo Valley Trail rededication happened June 18th at Village Green Park in Dalton.

[Read About It Here]



We're actively raising funds to complete the trail between Allen Drive and Forrer Road. close the gap Find out how you can help: Close the Gap!


Affiliated Agencies

  1. We are affiliated regionally and nationally with Rails to Trails Conservancy. RTC provides incentives and especially networking opportunities through regional and national programs. No funds from RTC come back to local construction efforts. Rails to Trails Conservancy

  2. Ohio Greenways Inc. is a non-profit that has developed statewide trail and public corridor plans along major waterways and abandoned canal towpaths and railroad right-of-ways. Again, Ohio Greenways provides incentives and sometimes special studies for state-wide trails, but does not fund local design and construction efforts such as proposed here. The Greenway Collaborative

  3. Wayne County Commissioners have made a high commitment to our efforts by providing County Planning Department support personnel for developing grants, contracts, and maps as well as doing extensive research on right-of-way ownerships. Board of Commisioners

  4. The Ohio to Erie Trail (total length - 320 miles): In addition to expanding trails within Wayne County, we and our affiliated agencies aim to complete a trail link between the Ohio River at Cincinnati and Lake Erie near Cleveland. The Ohio to Erie Trail

RTWC Board Members:

Don Noble II, Shreve

Vice President:
Ted Short, Wooster

Jennifer Reusser, Orrville

Bill Gantz, Wooster

Susan Baker, Creston
Sue Corfman, Orrville
Pat Glessner, Sterling
Becky Jewell, Orrville
Jon Kipfer, Sterling
Kim Scarbrough, Marshallville
John Stevic, Marshallville
Paul Vance, Orrville
Keith Winkler, Sterling
Keith Workman, Orrville